Your home for everything artistic

Untitled poem

When it comes to the genetics of art

I have often though that I got my photographic and visual artistic talents from my mother and my writing talent from my father. However, once in a while they each impress me with the skill set I often associate with the other. This poem, written by my mother during a road trip to visit my brother living three states away, is one such example.

While it is a raw version without any edits or separation of stanzas, I thought it was quite good, especially in terms of the vivid imagery. Check it out and enjoy.

mountain highway

Untitled – A Poem by Lisa Greiner

I was in a dream one morn’

As a passenger through someone’s life.

In the distance,

through the waves of green

rose puffs of white mist to the heavens

like smoke signals from Mother Nature to the divine

a blanket of soft grays moved overhead

that gave no more mention of warmth or light

and my face was bathed in nature’s shower.

What a journey someone else’s life can be.

The day will bring perhaps more gray

more dew to my thirsting skin.

A life bursting with the newness of spring

warmth and light

a dream to end.

Tomorrow I will journey again

but not in a dream.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

