Your home for everything artistic

The works below are the second parts of a series here on Creative Dreamers that will feature the art of Amy Oestreicher. Check out her bio below for more information.

The Body Remembers

 The Body Remembers

As a self-taught artist, I’ve always been intimidated by “figure drawing”.  However, this image came intuitively and unexpectedly when I started moving around a glob of flesh colored paint with a paper towel.  Suddenly, I felt connected to my body in a very physical sense, and this was what ended up being created.

She Does Not See

She Does Not See

I’m not the best at “minimalism” when it comes to everything, so I painted tgat just intending for it to be a background for one of my crazy ideas.   However, the longer I let it be, the more I saw the background really hold its own ground as a piece.  Sometimes I feel like if I didn’t “work really hard” on it, it’s not “art”, but for me, I think the hard work was allowing myself to step away and let the colors speak on their own.

Motion Blur

Motion Blur

Another piece that I just meant to be a background.  My favorite “technique” in the studio is j7st to squeeze out the last bots if paint from tunes I’m ready to toss, drag everything around with a paper towel, and then spend an hour literally banging the canvas against things as hard as I can, in every possible direction.  It scares my dogs a bit, though.

Artist bio:

Amy Oestreicher is a 28 year old actress, musician, teacher, composer, dancer, writer, artist, yogi, foodie, and general lover of life. Surviving and thriving through a coma, 27 surgeries and other trauma has inspired Amy to share her story with the world through her passionate desire to create and help others. More information on her  story, as well as her creative ventures can be found at amyoes.com, and  you can visit her Etsy shop as well.
Comments on: "Mixed Media Art by Amy Oestreicher (Part 2)" (1)

  1. […] Originally published in Creative Dreamers […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

