Your home for everything artistic

A new poetic style

As a person who loves to be inventive in my own way, it was a while back that having been inspired by the likes of the Sonnet, Limerick and Haiku, I thought about trying to develop my own poetic format. This is what I ended up developing. Who knows, maybe it will catch on.

I call it Singular Linearism.

The name is a result of the fact that it is made up only lines of a single word or single small phrase of less that 5 words. The full piece can be either 16 or 20 lines. And the structure is as follows:

If 16 lines –

Lines 1 – 3 – One word

Line 4 – One phrase of 3 to 4 words

Lines 5 – 7 – One word

Line 8 – One phrase of 3 to 4 words

Lines 9 – 11 – One word

Line 12 – One phrase of 3 to 4 words

Lines 13 – 15 – One word

Line 16 – One phrase of 3 to 4 words

If using 20 lines the phase should be at lines 5, 10, 15 and 20.

Sample:

The Seasons

Heat

Vibrancy

Exhilaration

Golden Rays

Earth

Trees

Breeze

Falling leaves

Cold

White

Ice

Glistening snow

Rebirth

Uprising

Sun

New life

 

 

Comments on: "A new poetic style" (1)

  1. Jo Clutton said:

    Hi!

    I’m Jo, artist, writer, traveller, wild west nut and renaissance soul. I’ve recovered from thirty years of depression and am now writing about the rebuilding of my polymath creativity on my blog Creating My Odyssey.

    I’m hoping to reach people with mental health issues and creatives in general to give encouragement, inspiration and hopefully some enjoyment.

    If you feel like dropping into my site for a visit, that would be brilliant!

    Jo UK

    http://www.joclutton.simplesite.com

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

